top of page
  • thetangomemo

BUDAPEST TANGO MEMO

Dernière mise à jour : 18 févr.


György Horvath manages a school and a milonga in a magnificent location near the Budapest Opera.

He took over this milonga that has been existing in this place about 20 years ago!

He is a key person with his very quiet and adorable dog in the Budapest tango scene. You cannot miss them!


  • Can you introduce yourself and tell us a little more about your background?

I was born and raised in Budapest. My life has been happening here since my great-grandfather decided to come to this city with his family. I think I belong to this city. This is my playground. This is what I feel all the time. It’s always exciting to live here.

I have worked in high-level positions in sales management in the IT and Telecommunications sector. 12 years ago, I decided to change my life when my girlfriend at the time told me about an Argentine tango class. In the meantime, we broke up but I still went to class alone. I immediately felt that I liked it and that this is where I wanted to be. I started following the teachings of Budai Laszlo and Andrea Pirity. Opportunities came soon, like going to higher level classes, going to stage with Laci's dance theater and getting involved in Saturday's milonga organization. Coming from the business world, this artistic world seemed a little strange to me but also very exciting.


  • What does Argentine Tango represent to you?

This is a very good question, but you must promise not to communicate my answer to Argentinians! I believe that Argentine tango represents European culture in all its singularity and complexity. For example, the music comes from Italian opera, Jewish violin, bandoneon which is of German origin, Czech polka or French operetta or even Hungarian folk music. It is therefore not surprising that the result of this music is in some way the synthesis of music from the Europe of immigration. Then the beauty of this dance, the movements, the connection touch me enormously.


  • Do you think in this case that Argentine tango is particularly suitable for Hungarians in general, many of whom practice social dances?

Tango is more a way of expressing feelings through dance. By trying to avoid generalizing, the countries of South and Eastern Slavic Countries are more inclined to express feelings more visible than in the countries of the North. Hungary is a bit in between. There are many people in Hungary who are making efforts to participate and improve the level by creating lessons, activities, events, and festivals to promote this dance and increase the number of participants even if compared to other European capitals, Berlin, Rome, Paris or Warsaw are larger in number of participants.


  • Do the economic issues Hungary is going through have an impact on learning tango, particularly for new generations?

Dancing here is very inexpensive, for example, compared to Vienna which is only 300 km away. In Vienna you must pay 15€ to access 1 milonga whereas here it is more around 5€.

Furthermore, I think that even the price of the courses is low. I don't think that even in this period of significant inflation the cost is so important knowing that young people can often benefit from a discount both in education and when registering for events.


  • Who are the people in Tango who have influenced or inspired you in your practice of tango, both personal and academic?

I started teaching tango to younger generations. The entire tango scene is totally different when young people take their part of it. I took lessons with Kati and Tiha then Antonella Terrazas then I visited different festivals. My inspiration comes more from the community builders than from star dancers in particular those who bring people together around the values ​​of Tango.


  • Any tips for beginners?

.First: be persistent! It is a difficult discipline. After a few lessons you will quickly realize this. After a few months you can already do interesting things but it takes years to really dance.

.Second: have fun and engage with people, with music, in classes or at balls.

.Third: practice. No more class can replace the repetition of movements and techniques learned in classes.

.And finally: be connected to people. There are many people doing interesting things in the world of Tango and most of them are passionate.


  • Any projects that you would like to share with us?

Today for me revolves around my tango school which is the project of my life.

I am also part of a stage dance group “Pesti Tangó Színház” that we founded with other dancers (Judit Somos, Lucas Molina Gazcon, Endre Szeghalmi, Andrea Serban, Katalin Czidor, Gábor Novak…). We create tango shows and dance in them.

Finally, I started teaching in Debrecen, a small provincial town.


  • You also manage a milonga -"La Mirada"- every saturday evening in a magnificent location in a street near the Budapest opera. How did it start?

I took over this milonga that has been existing in this place about 20 years ago!

Currently it is the regular milonga in Budapest with around 100 people and there is also 1 guided practice before for those who wish to train. I have been developing it for 9 years. Everyone is welcome!


228 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page