top of page
  • thetangomemo

BUDAPEST TANGO MEMO


Endre Szeghalmi is without a doubt an international tango teacher and dancer in Hungary. When he is not teaching in 5 languages, at his school  "TANGO LIBRE" in the center of Budapest, he performs around the world with his partner Andrea Serbán.

It was also before their  milonga "MILONGA JUEVES" on the famous András Avenue that we met him. Endre carries within him an incredible energy that is totally contagious!


  • Can you introduce yourself and tell me a little more about yourself?

I am a Hungarian tango dancer and instructor with the background of software developer degrees: “Programtervező Matematikus” from the Kossuth Lajos University and “Master Informatique et Systèmes Coopératif et Educatif” from the University de Savoye in France.

I have founded the "Tango Libre Budapest dance school" - among others - with my dance partner Andrea Serbán


  • Why did you decide to dedicate your life to Argentine Tango?

I have practiced many sports such as water polo or kickboxing, but I wanted to try something else. At that time, I had a girlfriend who had already practiced several dances such as salsa etc. She wanted to change and instead devote herself to a new practice. For my part, I have always loved tango music and so it was something natural to want to learn this dance.


  • How was your apprenticeship?

I started in 2007 in Budapest. I was very lucky because already at the time there were quality teachers in tango. I started with Anikó Lakos and Gábor Bajor.  Anikó Lakos had studied before in London, and she is also a Pilates teacher. His natural body structure and movement approach was very interesting because these 2 activities are linked: they relate to the movement of the body and answer the question of knowing what to do, why to do it and which part of the body to use. Then I started learning from everyone who had created tango schools in Budapest. I went to see them to learn from them.


  • Why did you decide to turn professional?

After about 8 months of tango my girlfriend told me that there was a rather original tango competition in Hungary, with two levels: the beginner, amateur level with less than one year experience and the more advanced level. As she wanted to participate so I followed her.

On the beginner level there were about 8 couples competing, but I still remember seeing 1 couple doing some huge movements:  ganchos, boleos, for example – and I remember finding that extraordinary. I was very impressed and at the same time very afraid to participate. There were 2 rounds: qualifying round and final. I was convinced that we would fail in the first round. In fact, we did not fail and were able to advance to the second round. Ultimately, we won this championship! I still remember that feeling of being scared, being afraid to dance on the milonga, because I was scared, they will figure out that I can’t dance. That’s also when I thought I wanted to continue competing. This meant that now I had to spend a lot more time doing tango more seriously.

So, I made a list of goals to become a better dancer, like listening to tango music, playing music as a DJ, dancing with more partners, taking several classes.

This meant that to reach a high level I would now have to devote my career solely to this activity


  • How was your experience in Argentina?

I wanted to learn more and above all have different points of view to dance. Therefore, I stayed in Argentina for more than a year. It also allowed me to learn Spanish.

I had teachers who left their mark on me like Carlos Perez and Roza Forte who didn't teach me a lot of figures but rather the quality of dance and how to combine emotion with technique in your dance.

When I came back from Buenos Aires, I did not want to return to the world of software development but rather to stay in the world of tango and teach it as well. I participated and won competitions with my partner Andrea Serbán:

o   European Tango Competition 2019 – Tango de Pista category I. place

o   UK Tango Championship 2018 – Pista Tango Category 1st place


  • Does tango have anything to do with Hungarian culture?

Tango is the culture of embrace: the way people hug each other. I believe that if the people of a country used with hugging, they also learn tango easier. As for tango in Hungary, it is evolving very well.

It’s getting better and better: the level is better. I think there are lots of good teachers and activities like festivals which are very numerous in Hungary.


  • As a DJ and dancer, do you have any Tango composers that you particularly appreciate?

Loving music is like loving cooking, you appreciate the changes and diversity and not the same thing all the time. In the beginning I loved more Francisco Canaro, then Enrique Rodriguez, followed by Juan Darienzo then Osvaldo Pugliesse. The almost last one was Anibal Troilo, which was very popular with dancers, but which is a little less popular today for its dramaturgical aspect which can seem exaggerated to the ears of certain dancers.

I love Roberto Goyeneche as well. But recently I stay more with easier like Miguel Calo.


  • Tips for beginners?

Be patient. Go out, dance in milongas and constantly challenge yourself. But I guess the most important: enjoy the road, the path...


  • Do you have projects?

There is a tango theater project which I participate in. The idea is to be able to tell a story in which tango is involved. Otherwise, I host 1 milonga every week called "Milonga Jueves" and with my dance partner we offer tango classes and workshops throughout the year.


  • A funny fact to share?

During a performance at the National Dance Theater, I once happened to fall on stage. I had forgotten a step at the end of the choreography. I unbalanced my partner and she felt on top of me but was not injured. The way I fell, the audience thought it was part of the choreography and applauded. But my partner did not understand this improvisation and she immediately and angrily left the stage. It was then that the public realized that it was a mistake. When you are on stage, show must go on!

 

323 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page